Skip to content

Prompt Two

Tuesday November 3, 2009

You return home from work to find a Dear John letter on your kitchen table. Oddly enough, it’s from one of your favorite pieces of furniture. What does the letter say?

To the hooligans who live in this house:

You may notice that there is something missing in the center of the living room.  Can you tell?  Did you even notice?  Does it seem strange to be able to walk straight into the kitchen with absolutely nothing obstructing your path?  Does it feel lonely, maybe empty without me?  I bet it does, but your emptiness is none of my concern.  Not anymore.  I am on my way.

No more cat claws digging in my back.  No more dog drool and tasteless pillows bringing me down.  I will not hide my light under a bushel.  Not for one more day.  Not for one more second.  By the time you read this I will be on a train bound for warmer climes.  Warmer and more monied.  I’m going to a place where people sit on couches only for special occasions.  I’ve paid my dues, done my time.  No more family room for me.  Formal living room all the way.  I’ll be dressed in decorative pillows with fluffy carpet at my feet.

Finally, it’s my time.

Regards,

The Couch

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

