Skip to content

A Week….. Is That A Long Time?

Wednesday March 24, 2010

I’m pretty sure I remember that the experts say it takes 14 days to cement a new habit.  My undergrad class in Cognitive psychology has mostly faded from memory (pun intended:) ), but that little nugget persists.  This means that I am just half-way to a whole new me.  How’s that for exciting?  You don’t get that on a Wednesday too often.

What I’m saying here is that I’m happy for myself.  Pleased that I’ve met my own commitments for 7 ENTIRE days and optimistic that I’ve built up enough inertia to keep me on the wagon for a while.  I know myself well enough to know that all of this productivity and personal accountability could end with one lazy day, but I’m on the lookout.  At the slightest sign of wagon slipping momentum, my default response is upthrown arms and a deep breath of relief.  Relief?  Absolutely.  In that moment of slip possibility, all expectation and accountability lifts.  Poof.  Like it never even happened.  That’s a pretty hard demon to fight, but I’m on the ready.  Standing guard and remaining vigilant.

My plan  for this round?  When the inevitable lazy day strikes, I’m going to allow it.  Let it come right on in and make itself at home.  I’m beginning to trust myself enough at this point to believe that the laze will pass.  I am not at the core, a lazy kind of girl.  I’m just not.  So, I will welcome the ebb with the surety that it will move into flow and take me with it.  One day at a time.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

